Zoom is an extremely popular online collaboration tool, and perfect for delivering live online sessions to your members. Online sessions are a great supplement to on-demand training sessions delivered by XRcize.
Quoox integrates with Zoom, automatically creating a corresponding Zoom meeting for each online session. Attendees are sent their joining details in their booking confirmation.
Your coach may start the Zoom session via the booking dashboard. Attendees may join their session by either clicking the link in their booking email, or by clicking the “Join Online Session” button against the session in the Quoox mobile app (version 1.5.2 and above). Upon joining a session, the attendee is automatically marked as having attended the session.
Integrating your Zoom account
Quoox links to your Zoom accounts by creating “online spaces” within the special “online” venue. Access the venue administration section, by selecting Venues from under the Settings menu. You will see the online venue listed. Click on the edit link to edit the online venue.
Within the online venue page, you will be presented with a “Link to Zoom” button. Click this button and you will be directed to Zoom, where you can authorise Quoox to manage the meetings for all of the users on your Zoom account.
Note: You should be an administrator of the Zoom account to install the Quoox marketplace app. For integration access, it is a requirement that you have one or more licensed Zoom users (Pro or above). API access is not available for the basic (free) Zoom accounts.
Creating your online spaces
Once you have linked your Zoom account, you should create an “online space” for each Zoom user against whom you wish to be able to schedule online sessions.
To add a new online space, click the Add button.
For each space, provide:
- Name – an identifiable name for the space. Be aware, this is also visible to members.
- Type – a drop-down comprising your list of Zoom users. Select the desired user from whom you wish to create the space.
- Capacity – set the default maximum number of attendees for sessions using this space.
Click the button to save your space, or to cancel.
Scheduling an online session
You can schedule an online session exactly the same way you would a regular session. The difference is that you select the venue “Online” and then, for the venue area, you select the online space (Zoom user) that you wish to host the session.
- You can only host one meeting per online space (Zoom user) at any one time. If you want to host multiple online sessions concurrently, you can do this by simply adding additional Zoom users to your Zoom account and create the corresponding online spaces within the online venue.
- A Zoom meeting is only created at the point the first participant is added. This is to prevent a wealth of Zoom meetings being created for which there are no attendees.
Booking a member onto an online session
Members are booked onto online sessions in exactly the same way as regular sessions. A coach/employee may either book them through the Quoox Portal, or the member may book themselves via the mobile app or member portal.
Customers are automatically sent their join link within their booking email. The online booking confirmation email template may be administered within Settings > System Templates.
- As the online sessions are hosted under a different venue, the member must have credits valid for that venue. Alternatively, these can be PAYG as per regular sessions.
- With the Quoox app, online sessions are shown alongside in-person sessions regardless of the selected venue. This is by design, and is to reduce the potential confusion of members “not seeing” online sessions in their app, as they have their regular bricks-and-mortar venue selected as default.
How do members join a session?
Members may join an online session by either clicking the link in their booking email, or by clicking the “Join Online Session” button against the session in the Quoox mobile app (version 1.5.2 or above). By joining the session, they will be automatically marked as attended.
The link sent to each member is unique to them, and works only for that session. It cannot be shared, and it cannot be used for any other online sessions.
Attendees will be added with video enabled, but will be muted by default. This may, of course, be adjusted by the meeting host as per usual.
A coach may start a session either from within Zoom, or by clicking the Start button within the booking dashboard.
- The link to start the session for hosts will be available for 30-minutes either side of the meeting time.
- The link to join the session for members will be available for 15-minutes either side of the meeting time.
If you have any questions or issues with the Zoom integration you may get in touch with our support team by submitting a ticket in the Quoox Account > Support Tickets area of the Quoox portal, or by emailing [email protected]. Further support and guidance may also be found in the FAQs below, or elsewhere in our support portal.
Our customer support team is available during regular UK business hours, and tickets are processed on a joint severity and first-come, first-served basis. We aim to respond within 4 working hours, with typical response times usually being much less.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I move the session time?
Yes. You can alter the session time as you would a regular session. This will also update the meeting within Zoom.
Can I change the Zoom user?
No. Once a Zoom meeting has been created by Quoox, it is assigned to that user. To change Zoom user, you would need to recreate the session.
What happens in the event of a cancellation?
If a member cancels their booking, their registration against the Zoom meeting is revoked and their link will no longer work. If you cancel an entire online session, all attendees will be cancelled and the meeting removed from Zoom. You should send cancellation notifications manually using the Quoox message centre.
I cannot see the meeting in Zoom
The Zoom meetings are only created when the first member is booked onto the session. This is to avoid scheduling unnecessary meetings in Zoom.
Invalid credits when booking a member
Remember that “online” is a new venue, and thus the credits you assign your members need to be valid for that venue for them to be able to book an online session. If you selected credits to be valid for “all venues”, they will automatically be valid for online sessions.
The venue validity for a credit is set at the time it is issued. You can add new venues for future credits that are issued by amending a credit pack, but this will not alter existing credits issued. Please contact Quoox support if you need help with regards to existing credits, and adding a venue to credits already issued.
Can I send a link reminder?
There are several ways to do this. For an online meeting, within the booking dashboard, a “Send member… …Joining instructions” option is available against each booked member. This will re-send the booking confirmation.
Auto-nudge booking reminders may also be used, and the fill-in field [[BOOKING.JOINURL]] may be used. Remember that, for non-online sessions, this field will be empty.
Do I need to mark attendance for online members?
Quoox will reconcile the joining member with the session. If they match, they will be automatically marked as attended.
Quoox does not automatically mark members as “no show”, and this needs to be done manually as per a regular in-person session.
I do not see my Zoom user in the spaces listing
Quoox will only list Zoom users with licensed accounts. Make sure that the user you wish to create a space for is licensed within Zoom, and has a Pro account (or above).
Can I schedule concurrent online sessions?
You can only host one meeting at a time per Zoom user. To host concurrent online sessions, simply setup multiple Zoom users and assign each as an online space. You may then run multiple sessions concurrently as long as each is assigned a different online space.
I get an alert saying Quoox could not book [person] on the Zoom meeting
It is not possible to book the Zoom account owner as a participant of a meeting. Often in testing, facility owners add themselves but, as the Zoom account owner, this isn’t possible. Zoom doesn’t allow you to be the host and participant in the same meeting!
How do I disconnect my Zoom account?
If you wish to disconnect your Zoom account from Quoox, navigate to the Zoom App Marketplace.
Click Manage > Installed Apps or search for the Quoox app.
Click on the Quoox app.